answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No. When a monster you control attacks a monster with a Defense higher then the Attack of your monster, you take damage equal to the difference but neither monster is destroyed. The only exception is due to card effects such as Des Kangaroo.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: When you attack a face up defense position monster on yugio and it has a higher defense than the atk of your monster what happens does your monster get sent to the graveyard?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Continue Learning about Games

If a monster attacks a defense position monster and is itself changed to defense position by Kunai with Chain can it be destroyed by battle if the opposing monster's defense is higher?

If the attacking monster is switched into Defence position, the attack ends. Damage Calculation is not entered, you do not compare the monsters' ATK or DEF.


What happens when you attack a defense position monster with the same DEF as your ATK in Yugioh?

When a monster attacks a defense position monster with DEF equal to to the attacking monster's ATK, no damage is inflicted to either player's Life Points and no monsters are destroyed in battle. Some monsters have effects that activate before or after they battle, so you must take those into account as well.


What happens if you destroy a card in face down defense position but has higher defense points then the monster attacking attack points?

If the attacking monster has lower ATK than the defence-position defender's DEF, then the defender is not destroyed at all. What will happen is the attacking player will take damage equal to the difference between the attacker's ATK and the defender's DEF, but neither monster will be destroyed.


Do you lose life points when your monster is in defense position?

No not unless as a result of a monster effect, spell card or trap card.


Can you Tribute Summon a monster in face-up Defense position?

No, a Tribute Summon follows the same position rules as a Normal Summon, so a monster you Tribute Summon is either face-up attack or Tribute Set into face-down defense.

Related questions

What happens if the monster equipped with Flint is destroyed and then no monster is left on the field?

Flint is sent to the graveyard


If a monster attacks a defense position monster and is itself changed to defense position by Kunai with Chain can it be destroyed by battle if the opposing monster's defense is higher?

If the attacking monster is switched into Defence position, the attack ends. Damage Calculation is not entered, you do not compare the monsters' ATK or DEF.


How does raging cloudian work?

Activate only when a “Cloudian” monster(s) you control is destroyed by its own effect and sent to the Graveyard. Special Summon 1 of those monsters from your Graveyard in Attack Position and place 1 Fog Counter on it. It cannot be changed to Defense Position by a card effect... personally I don't get it either.


Can you Tribute Summon a monster in face up Defense position?

You cannot tribute summon a monster in face up defense position. You can either tribute summon a monster in face down defense or face up attack position. If you want to summon in face up defense, you need to special summon.


If you tribute a monster to summon a LV 5 or 6 monster can you set the tributed monster face-down position?

You can set the monster you tributed for, but the tributed monster is sent to the graveyard


What happens when you attack a defense position monster with the same DEF as your ATK in Yugioh?

When a monster attacks a defense position monster with DEF equal to to the attacking monster's ATK, no damage is inflicted to either player's Life Points and no monsters are destroyed in battle. Some monsters have effects that activate before or after they battle, so you must take those into account as well.


What happens if you destroy a card in face down defense position but has higher defense points then the monster attacking attack points?

If the attacking monster has lower ATK than the defence-position defender's DEF, then the defender is not destroyed at all. What will happen is the attacking player will take damage equal to the difference between the attacker's ATK and the defender's DEF, but neither monster will be destroyed.


What is set summon in Yu-Gi-Oh?

You put a monster in face down defense position BUT your not allowed to normel summon a monster in defense postion.


How do you use soul rope if can't active it when the monster is destoryed?

Soul RopeTRAP/NormalActivate only by paying 1000 Life Points when a monster you control is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard. Special Summon 1 Level 4 monster from your Deck.Soul Rope is activated when a monster is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard. This means that you can activate it when a monster you control is destroyed by battle or by another card effect. You cannot activate Soul Rope if the monster was destroyed during the Damage Step via a card effect such as a Defense Position Berserk Gorilla because the timing would not be correct. You also cannot activate this card if there is an effect that prevents your monster from being sent to the Graveyard (ie. D.D. Warrior or Macro Cosmos).


If you equip a spirit monster with a spell equip card what happens to that equip card when the spirit monster returns to your hand?

The equip spell is sent to the graveyard and the monster returns to your hand as usual :)


Why can't you summon a monster in face-up Defense position?

The core rules state that a Normal Summon places the monster in face-up Attack position, and a Set places it in face-down Defense position. Special Summons are face-up Attack or Defense position, unless stated otherwise. If the continuous Trap card 'Light of Intervention' is active, monsters can be Normal Summoned in face-up Defense position.


How do you special summon from the graveyard?

Special Summoning from the Graveyard requires an effect that specifically allows you to do so. Call of the Haunted, as an example, allows a player to select and Special Summon one monster from their respective Graveyard in face-up Attack Position.