No, a Tribute Summon follows the same position rules as a Normal Summon, so a monster you Tribute Summon is either face-up attack or Tribute Set into face-down defense.
Chat with our AI personalities
Yes, you can tribute monsters for card effects and Tribute Summon the same turn you summon a monster. However, you cannot Normal Summon a monster and Tribute Summon on the same turn because you can only Normal Summon once per turn. Cards such as Double Summon and Ultimate Offering will let you do that.
Setting is similar, yet not identical to normal summoning. a normal summon is when you Summon a monster onto the field in face-up attack position, whereas a set is when you normal summon a monster in face-down defense position. When a monster is set, it is not yet considered a summoned monster.
You can definitely tribute a monster on the same turn as a Normal Summon, ie, you can normal summon Exiled Force and tribute it for its effect. What you can't do is tribute it for a Tribute Summon because this is another Normal Summon, you can't perform two in a turn unless an effect allows you to do so. But you can tribute that monster for other things, like an activation cost or for a special summon.
Yes, you can tribute an XYZ monster to tribute summon something.
Yes, monsters may be 'tribute set'.