answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

by law, a person who has a instructional permit can not drive without a parent or someone over the age of 21 with a license in the passengers seat.

Additional: If your accompanying license holder should happen to be intoxicated you cannot operate the motor vehicle or be a "disignated driver."

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a person with an instructional permit be a designated driver?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Continue Learning about Music & Radio

What is a school permit?

A school permit is a driver's permit for a young person who can only use it so that he or she may drive to SCHOOL ONLY. In some states, the legal age for obtaining a driver's license is 16, 17 or 18. If you are 14 or 15 years old, your state may issue a school permit so that you may be able to drive yourself to school. A parent or sibling are USUALLY the only other passengers allowed to ride in the same vehicle, with you as the driver.


Can a driver with a learners permit from Florida drive with a person licensed in another state?

Of course you can drive as long as the person traveling with you is more than 25 years old and has had a drivers license for more than 3 years. To get more details visit,


What happens to your parent if they let you drive with a permit only alone and you get pulled over?

It surely depends on the facts and circumstances of the stop. First off, what was the reason for the stop? Was it a simple case of speeding? Or was it reckless driving? Did you simply roll through a stop sign or almost run over a pedestrian? The reason for the stop plays a huge role in the outcome. Second, learners permit requires, in most jurisdictions, that the holder of the permit be accompanied by a licensed driver of at least 21 years old. Some require if the permit holder is under 18 years old that the licensed driver be a parent or guardian. That person had better be present in the car or the permit can be revoked. In addition to other very serious charges, such as driving without a valid drivers license, the typical traffic violation can carry fines and penalties that run into the hundreds or even thousands of dollars. If it was a minor traffic infraction, the driver and the licensed driver may get off with just a warning. Or, the officer may choose to cite the licensed driver for the infraction. The officer may also require that the licensed driver take over driving for the duration of the trip. If a moving violation occurs and a ticket is issued, the insurance company will be notified. This will often result in the insured driver's rates to increase.


How many passengers can a sixteen yr old have in a car at one time in Tennessee.?

A 16 year old drive can only have one person in the car with them while driving in Tennessee. You must hold a learner's permit before obtaining a driver's license in Tennessee.


What happens if your an adult driving unsupervised with a learners permit in PA?

If a person with only a learners permit gets a reckless driving ticket, they will have to pay the ticket. Depending on the state they may be required to attend classes, and their insurance rates will go up.

Related questions

What do you call a person who drives for the drunk people?

The person is the 'Designated Driver' who is not allowed to drink alcohol.


Which famous person would you select for designated driver?

Clinton


What is a learner's permit?

A learner's permit is a driver's license with significant restrictions. A person driving with a learner's permit typically must have a licensed adult driver in the front passenger seat.


Can a person with a school permit drive home another person from school without a school permit?

A driver with a permit can only drive if someone with a license is in the car.


Can a driver with a learners permit from Maryland drive with a person licensed in Arizona?

Yes, as long as the other person is a legally licensed driver.


Are you at fault in an accident if you only have a permit with No adult in the car?

I believe the person with the permit will be at fault regardless of who caused the accident. 1) The person with a permit is not allowed to operate the vehicle without a licensed driver in the car. 2) The person with a permit most likely is not insured.


Your motorcycle permit says you have to be with a licenced driver can they be in a car?

NO. The person must be on the machine with you.


What can happen if you don't have a driver's permit and get stopped even if you have someone in the car with a permit?

YOU will be charged with "Driving Without a Permit" and the person with the permit COULD be charged with "Perrmitting An Unlicensed Operator" to drive.


Who besides a licensed driver can be in the car when a person has a learner's permit in Utah?

This link will answer your questions.http://www.education4drivers.com/utah/permit-restrictions-rules.htm


Will 21st Century Insurance company insure a driver with only a permit?

It is usually not necessary to insurance a driver who only has a permit. Often, if it is a young person, they are covered under their parents insurance. If it is an adult, then they may insure the driver.


Who record does a permit driver accident dmv goes under?

the person who owns the car


Can a person with a learner's permit drive if the licensed driver is drunk?

Yes, this may be legal.