answersLogoWhite

0

No. Here is what happens when a player summons Jinzo.

The turn player offers tribute, and places Jinzo on the field. His continuous effect is not yet 'switched on', nor any other continuous effects applied to him yet. Here, in the 'summon negation window', can cards be used to negate his summon. So you could negate the summon with Solemn Judgment, Horn of Heaven, etc. He'd go to the graveyard if that happened.

If neither player want to negate Jinzo's summon, the summon is now successful. His continuous effect now becomes active, negating all traps currently active, and prohibiting new ones from being activated. Now we're in the 'summon response window', which is where Trap Hole would normally be used.

Since Jinzo is now preventing any trap activations, it means any Trap that responds to a successful summon cannot be used. That means Trap Hole, Bottomless Trap Hole, Torrential Tribute, etc, can't be activated. Neither can Divine Wrath nor Forced Back could be used, because these respond only to 'activated effects'. Jinzo doesn't 'activate' anything, and even if he did, his continuous effect would stop Traps responding to it anyway. Lastly of course, non-responsive Traps (Phoenix Wing Wind Blast, Raigeki Break) can't do anything either, their activations are prevented while Jinzo remains face-up on the field.

User Avatar

Wiki User

15y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

RossRoss
Every question is just a happy little opportunity.
Chat with Ross
TaigaTaiga
Every great hero faces trials, and you—yes, YOU—are no exception!
Chat with Taiga
MaxineMaxine
I respect you enough to keep it real.
Chat with Maxine

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Is Jinzo affected by Trap Hole in Yu-Gi-Oh?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Continue Learning about Games

Can you activate Trap Hole to negate the Tribute Summon of Jinzo in Yu-Gi-Oh?

You cannot activate Trap Hole to negate the tribute summon of Jinzo in Yu-Gi-Oh. No effect of Trap Hole can be activated because Jinzo negates traps in the game. However, your only option to totally prevent Jinzo from negating trap card effects is to negate his summon. To negate a monster's summon also prevents any of its effects on the field from applying. Cards like Solemn Warning not only negate the summoning of a monster but also prevent its effects on the field from ever applying and also destroys the monster.


What does Jinzo do?

Jinzo is a powerful card. His text reads: Trap Cards cannot be activated. The effects of all face-up Trap Cards are negated.When he is summoned, either by Tribute Summoning or Special Summoning, the instant he is face-up on the field no Traps work or can be activated. No, he doesn't destroy Trap cards, but any face-down Trap cards cannot be flipped to activate their effect. So if you were planning on activating Trap Hole or Torrential Tribute when Jinzo is summoned, it will not be able to activate.If either player has a face-up Trap card, it is negated as well. For example, let's say the oppoent has Solemn Wishes face-up on the field. Whenever they darw a card, they gain 500 LP. Now with Jinzo on the field, when they draw a card, Solemn Wishes will not activate and he/she will not gain 500 LP. An important thing to remember is that Jinzo's Trap-negation applies to both players, so your Traps are inactive and negated too!As a rule of thumb we can say that when Jinzo hits the field, Traps are done for, but in reality there are a few ways to get around Jinzo. If Jinzo is removed from the field (returned to hand, sent to Graveyard, etc.) or flipped face-down, Traps can start working again. If any Trap card like Threatening Roar is activated before Jinzo is summoned, Threatening Roar will still prevent the opposing player from declaring an attack.One other thing to note is that when Jinzo is summoned, certain Counter-Trap cards can stop him. The most notable ones are Solemn Judgement and Forced Back. When a monster gets summoned, those particualar cards will negate the summon of the monster. Think of it like this: if you Tribute Summon Jinzo and your opponent activates Forced Back, Jinzo's Trap-negation effect never gets a chance to take effect and he gets return to your hand.


Can Jinzo in Yu-Gi-Oh be stopped with the Horn of Heaven?

If Jinzo is summoned it can be targetted by trap cards to stop it, once it has been succesfully summoned it's effect takes place and stops trap cards being activated. E.g you summon Jinzo, your opponent can immediately activate horn of heaven to destroy it. If Jinzo is already on the field then no trap cards can be activated. *Once he is summoned, he is impossible to stop with traps. If your trap says "negate the summon," then he was never summoned, and therefore didn't stop the trap. Otherwise it doesn't work. That is how you can tell in the future as well. -Dragonheart91*


Do any trap cards work on jinzo?

There is only one way to negate his effect and that is by using a effect negation card the moment it is summoned as jinzo's effect is spell speed 2 your cards effect will work first.


What yu gi oh card can negate the effect of a trap card?

Jinzo, Royal Decree and Trap Stun negate the effects, Trap Jammer, Solemn Judgment, Seven Tools of the Bandit negate both activation and effect.