No. Skill Drain only works for monsters already present on the field. Any effect that activates in the hand or graveyard are not negated by the effect of Skill Drain.
Chat with our AI personalities
Flipping Skill Drain face-up costs 1000 life points. It then applies a continuous effect, there are no further costs, and it does not have an activated effect from then on.
Skill Drain will do the following:If a monster activates an effect, and the monster is face-up on the field when that effect resolves, then that effect will be negated.If, when the effect resolves, the monster is not face-up on the field, then the effect will resolve as normal. This happens to monsters who activate and resolve in different zones, monsters tributed for the activation of their own effect, and monsters destroyed, or flipped face-down before their effects can resolve.A monster's continuous effect will be negated until Skill Drain is removed from the field.
Yes. Skill Drain only negates resolutions. It does not prevent activations, nor is there any rule against activating an effect that the current game state will negate.
If they are Summoned as Normal Monsters, they are unaffected. If they are Summoned as Effect Monsters, they will be moved face-up into the S/T zone and cease to be monsters while Skill Drain is active. Even if Skill Drain is removed from the field, they will not return to the monster zone, they will remain uselessly in the S/T zone.
Firstly, "Extreme Jade God Rainbow Dragon" is just Rainbow Dragon; only the Japanese names of Rainbow Dragonand Rainbow Dark Dragonincludes the words "Ultimate Gem God".As for Elemental Hero Captain Gold and Skill Drain, the answer is yes, his effect will be negated and Captain Goldwill not be destroyed if Skyscraperis not face-up on the field. But Skill Drainwill not negate the first effect of Captain Goldthat lets you discard it to find a Skyscraper in your deck.Skill Drainalso negates the effect of Rainbow Dragon, but it's a bit more complicated. Rainbow Dragoncan still be Special Summoned from your hand if you've met the conditions to do so. Now, since Skill Drainonly negates the effects of monsters on the field, but does not prevent you from activating them, Rainbow Dragoncan still activate his effects the turn after it was summoned. Both of this card's effects have a costand the cost to activate a card's effect must be paid before it resolves or gets negated.Simply put, if you activate the effect ofRainbow Dragonto increase its ATK, you must send "Crystal Beast" monsters on your side of the field to the Graveyard first. If you or your opponent then chains this effect with Skill Drainor Skill Drain was already face-up on the field, your Rainbow Dragonwill not gain any ATK. Similarly, if you activate the card's second effect to return all cards on the field to their owner's deck, you must banish all "Crystal Beast" cards in your Graveyard even if the effect is negated.