answersLogoWhite

0

No. Skill Drain only works for monsters already present on the field. Any effect that activates in the hand or graveyard are not negated by the effect of Skill Drain.

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

FranFran
I've made my fair share of mistakes, and if I can help you avoid a few, I'd sure like to try.
Chat with Fran
EzraEzra
Faith is not about having all the answers, but learning to ask the right questions.
Chat with Ezra
MaxineMaxine
I respect you enough to keep it real.
Chat with Maxine

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Does skill drain stop the effect of cyber dragon?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Continue Learning about Games

Do you have to pay 1000LP each time you use Skill Drain's effect in Yu-Gi-Oh?

Flipping Skill Drain face-up costs 1000 life points. It then applies a continuous effect, there are no further costs, and it does not have an activated effect from then on.


How does the Skill Drain work in Yu-Gi-Oh?

Skill Drain will do the following:If a monster activates an effect, and the monster is face-up on the field when that effect resolves, then that effect will be negated.If, when the effect resolves, the monster is not face-up on the field, then the effect will resolve as normal. This happens to monsters who activate and resolve in different zones, monsters tributed for the activation of their own effect, and monsters destroyed, or flipped face-down before their effects can resolve.A monster's continuous effect will be negated until Skill Drain is removed from the field.


Can you activate a monster's effect perhaps to make use of its cost even though its effect will be negated by Skill Drain in Yu-Gi-Oh?

Yes. Skill Drain only negates resolutions. It does not prevent activations, nor is there any rule against activating an effect that the current game state will negate.


What is the ruling for Skill Drain vs Trap Monster Cards?

If they are Summoned as Normal Monsters, they are unaffected. If they are Summoned as Effect Monsters, they will be moved face-up into the S/T zone and cease to be monsters while Skill Drain is active. Even if Skill Drain is removed from the field, they will not return to the monster zone, they will remain uselessly in the S/T zone.


Will the Yu-Gi-Oh card Skill Drain work on Extreme Jade God Rainbow Dragon and Elemental Hero Captain Gold?

Firstly, "Extreme Jade God Rainbow Dragon" is just Rainbow Dragon; only the Japanese names of Rainbow Dragonand Rainbow Dark Dragonincludes the words "Ultimate Gem God".As for Elemental Hero Captain Gold and Skill Drain, the answer is yes, his effect will be negated and Captain Goldwill not be destroyed if Skyscraperis not face-up on the field. But Skill Drainwill not negate the first effect of Captain Goldthat lets you discard it to find a Skyscraper in your deck.Skill Drainalso negates the effect of Rainbow Dragon, but it's a bit more complicated. Rainbow Dragoncan still be Special Summoned from your hand if you've met the conditions to do so. Now, since Skill Drainonly negates the effects of monsters on the field, but does not prevent you from activating them, Rainbow Dragoncan still activate his effects the turn after it was summoned. Both of this card's effects have a costand the cost to activate a card's effect must be paid before it resolves or gets negated.Simply put, if you activate the effect ofRainbow Dragonto increase its ATK, you must send "Crystal Beast" monsters on your side of the field to the Graveyard first. If you or your opponent then chains this effect with Skill Drainor Skill Drain was already face-up on the field, your Rainbow Dragonwill not gain any ATK. Similarly, if you activate the card's second effect to return all cards on the field to their owner's deck, you must banish all "Crystal Beast" cards in your Graveyard even if the effect is negated.