answersLogoWhite

0

Under normal circumstances, you are only allowed one Normal Summon per turn. A Tribute Summon is a kind of Normal Summon, meaning that if you wanted to do both in one turn, you'll need an effect that specifically lets you, like Double Summon.

Note that a special summon that requires tribute, is not a Tribute Summon. You can perform those in the same turn as a Normal Summon.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago

Still curious? Ask our experts.

Chat with our AI personalities

ProfessorProfessor
I will give you the most educated answer.
Chat with Professor
RafaRafa
There's no fun in playing it safe. Why not try something a little unhinged?
Chat with Rafa
BlakeBlake
As your older brother, I've been where you are—maybe not exactly, but close enough.
Chat with Blake

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can you tribute summon and normal summon in the same turn?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Continue Learning about Games

Is tribute summon the same as normal summon in yugioh?

A tribute summon is a form of Normal Summon. So that means you can only tribute summon OR normal summon ONCE per turn.


Can you tribute the same turn during a normal summon?

You can definitely tribute a monster on the same turn as a Normal Summon, ie, you can normal summon Exiled Force and tribute it for its effect. What you can't do is tribute it for a Tribute Summon because this is another Normal Summon, you can't perform two in a turn unless an effect allows you to do so. But you can tribute that monster for other things, like an activation cost or for a special summon.


Can you tribute on the same turn as you summon a monster in Yu-Gi-Oh?

Yes, you can tribute monsters for card effects and Tribute Summon the same turn you summon a monster. However, you cannot Normal Summon a monster and Tribute Summon on the same turn because you can only Normal Summon once per turn. Cards such as Double Summon and Ultimate Offering will let you do that.


Is a synchro summon the same as a tribute summon?

Not quite. A Synchro Summon is a Special Summon. A Tribute Summon is the same as a Normal Summon, except that when you Tribute Summon you need to tribute monsters. Also you can Special Summon as many times as you want to in a turn, whereas you can only Normal Summon OR Tribute Summon once per turn, except with a card effect.


Can you tribute a monster on the same turn you played it in Yu-Gi-Oh?

Yes, there is nothing inherently within the tributing or summoning rules which would stop you from tributing a monster you summoned the same turn you summoned it. Obviously, due to the regular summon rules, you can not Tribute Summon the monster you just Normal Summoned on the same turn; it would count as two Normal Summons. But if the first summon was a Special Summon, you had used "Double Summon", or wanted to tribute it for an effect like "Enemy Controller", then it's totally fine to tribute that monster for them.