Best Answer

In chronological order (not the dates release, but the time that the movies took place in his life) are as follows:

1. Hannibal Rising (2007) 2. Manhunter (1986) & Red Dragon (2002) (Both based off the same book) 3. Silence of the Lambs (1991) 4. Hannibal (2001)

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago

Thomas Harris published four novels that feature the Hannibal Lecter character. First was Red Dragon (1981), and the first movie based on it, Manhunter (1986). In Manhunter, the Hannibal Lecter character is played by Brian Cox, not Anthony Hopkins. The second movie that was based on Red Dragon(which is also titled Red Dragon) came out in 2002. Red Dragon (2002) stars Edward Norton, and Anthony Hopkins plays Hannibal Lecter.

Harris published the Silence of the Lambs in 1988. The movie came out in 1991. Then came Hannibal the novel (1999) and Hannibal the movie (2001). Hannibal Rising, the novel, came out in 2006, and Hannibal Rising the movie came out the next year (2007).

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago

Thomas Harris wrote four novels that feature the Hannibal Lecter character: Red Dragon (1981), The Silence of the Lambs (1988), Hannibal (1999), Hannibal Rising(2006).

There are TWO films that are based on Thomas Harris' novel Red Dragon. The first is Manhunter, which came out in 1986. The second is Red Dragon, which came out in 2002.

Hannibal Rising was the last book to be written and filmed, BUT, it is a prequel. It's about Hannibal Lecter's childhood and early adulthood. So, the events in it take place BEFORE Manhunter, Red Dragon, The Silence of the Lambs and Hannibal.

SO, the order of the movies by when the events take place is:

Hannibal Rising (2007) ---> Manhunter (1986) and Red Dragon (2002) ---> The Silence of the Lambs (1991) ---> Hannibal (2001)

THIS is the order of the movies by their release dates:

Manhunter (1986) ---> The Silence of the Lambs(1991) ---> Hannibal (2001) ---> Red Dragon(2002) ---> Hannibal Rising (2007).

All movies on TopRater:

This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What is the order of the Hannibal Lecter films?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Was Hanible Lecter a canible?

Hannibal Lecter was a character in a series of novels/films, most notably in Silence of the Lambs, and not a real individual. He was a murderer and cannibal.

What was the name of the FBI agent in the Hannibal Lecter series of films?

Clarice Starling

Julianne Moore replaced whom in the Hannibal Lecter films?

Jodie Foster

What was the last name of Hannibal in The Silence of the Lambs?

Dr. Hannibal Lecter

Which of the Hannibal films does Hopkins play in?

Anthony Hopkins plays Dr Hannibal Lecter in 3 movies to date:'Red Dragon' 2002'Hannibal' 2001'The Silence of The Lambs' 1991

What is Hannibal's full name?

Hannibal Lecter?

Is ther a new Hannibal lecter movie coming out?

The last film in the Hannibal Lecter film franchise was produced in 2007, called Hannibal Rising. As of 2014, no plans to produce another Hannibal Lecter film have been announced.

What Hannibal Lecter film was directed by Ridley Scott?


What film was Julianne Moore and Jodie Foster both in?

They have both played Clarice Starling in the Hannibal Lecter films. Julianne Moore replaced Jodie Foster in the second Hannibal film, Hannibal. Jodie Foster played Clarice Starling in the original film The Silence of the Lambs

Where is lecter born or lives?

Dr. Hannibal Lecter was born in Lithuania in 1933.

What is Hannibal Lecter's middle name?

Hannibal Lecter did not have a middle name. His nickname was Hannibal the Cannibal. And he also used aliases such as: Mr. Closter, Dr. Fell and Lloyd Wyman. Other than that, his full name was: Hannibal Lecter VIII.

What is Hannibal's birthday?

Hannibal Lecter was born on January 20, 1933.