Best Answer

The Strathcona Cup was presented in 1909 by Sir Donald Smith, Lord Strathcona, to recognize the winner of a curling tour between Canada and Scotland. The first tour was held in 1903 when Scotland sent a group of curlers to tour Canada and the northern United States. In 1909 the Canadians mounted a return tour to Scotland and this is when Lord Strathcona offered the trophy to commemorate the winning side. The Scots' second tour to Canada was held in 1912. This event continues today on a five year alternate tour schedule. The Scots last toured Canada in 2003, the 100th anniversary of the first Scottish curling tour. The next competition will be held in 2009 when Canada sends a group of curlers to tour Scotland marking the 100th anniversary of the first Canadian tour to Scotland. Each time the competition is held, the touring side produces a commemorative pin or badge to be presented to their opponents during their tour. The 1912 medal would be a curling pin from the 1912 Scottish tour to Canada. The story of the 2003 Scots' tour of Canada may be found here: The upcoming (January 2009) Centennial Tour of Canadians curling in Scotland is here:

User Avatar

Wiki User

14y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Heart Rate

19 cards

What were the cities and years of the Olympic Games which had terrorist disturbances

What is the correct definition for recovery heart rate

When is the ideal time to take a resting heart rate

Which of the following is an aerobic outdoor sport

See all cards
56 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Strathcona cup medal 1912
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Who is the only footballer to win a premier league medal an fa cup winners medal a league cup winners medal a champions league medal and uefa cup winner's medal?

Paulo Ferreira.

Who won an All Ireland Winners medal and World Cup Medal?

who won a world cup medal, champions league medal and all Ireland medal and is spanish

What was the sfa cup winners in 1912?

The Scottish Cup winners in the year 1912 were Falkirk.

Was the winner of the FA Cup in 1912?

Barnsley was the winner of the English FA Cup in 1912.

Was the winner of the KNVB Beker cup in 1912?

HFC Haarlem was the winner of the KNVB Beker cup in 1912.

Which premiership player has won an fa cup winners medal a premiership winners medal a world cup winners medal a European championship winners medal?

Thierry Henry

What 3 players playing in a game hibs v berwick rangers won a European cup medal a European cup winners medal and a fairs city cup medal?

john Collins

Who is the only player to win an fa cup winners medal league cup winners medal champions league winners medal uefa cup winners medal and the premier league?

Paulo Ferreira, who won the Uefa Cup and Champions League with FC Porto and the other trophies with Chelsea.

What player has a world cup medal and a gaa medal?

xabi alonso

What team won the Norwegian NM Cup in 1912?

The team that won the Norwegian NM Cup in 1912 is Mercantile SFK.

Which player has an olympic gold medal and an fa cup winners medal and a premiership winners medal?


Did Arnold Muhren ever get a European cup winners medal?

He won a UEFA Cup medal with Ipswich Town in 1981. He also won a European Cup Winners Cup with Ajax in 1987.