Best Answer

Because that's where the slave states were, and that's the section of the country where the cotton was. Slaves were needed to work the cotton fields.

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Why were the slave states concentrated in the South and southeast regions of the US?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What are the geographic regions of Brazil?

Brazilian states are grouped into five geographic regions: Midwest, Northeast, North, South and Southeast

What are all the southeast regions?

The southeast region of the United States includes the states of Alabama, Georgia, Florida, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Louisiana, Tennessee and Virginia.

What are the four regions of the United states?

The United States had become three distinct regions-the freedom-loving West, the increasingly industrial North, and the agricultural South.

What is the southeast regions nickname?

The southeastern region of the United States is often referred to as the "Deep South."

What are the key characteristics of each of Brazil's 4 main regions?

Has the largest city: Southeast (São Paulo-SP) * Covers the capital: Midwest (Brasília - DF) * Major Area: North * Minor Area: South * Increased GDP: Southeast * Greater HDI: South * More states: Northeast * Less states: South * Increased population: Southeast * Higher GDP per capita: Southeast * Increased literacy rate: South * Increased population density: Southeast

Where are the followers of the major world religions concentrated?

Followers of Christianity are concentrated in the Americas, Europe, and Africa. Followers of Islam are concentrated in the Middle East, North Africa, South Asia, and Southeast Asia. Followers of Hinduism are concentrated in India and Nepal. Followers of Buddhism are concentrated in East and Southeast Asia.

What are the 5 major regions of the US?

pacific west , new england, mid alantic, mid west, southeast, south central, mountain west,== ==

What are the regions of Brazil?

The country of Brazil is divided into five different regions. These regions are North, Northeast, Center-West, Southeast and South Brazil.

What are some names of the regions in the US?

Northeast; Northwest; New England; mid-Atlantic; mid-South; deep South; Midwest; Plains States; East Coast; West Coast

What are the States of Brazil?

Brazil has five geographical regions. They are Central-West, North, Northeast, South, Southeast. The Central-West Region has three states: Goias, Mato Grosso, and Mato Grosso do Sul.

What are the names of regions in Brazil?

South SouthEast SouthWest Mid-Center North Northest

Is Tennessee located in the Northwest Southeast or Southwest?

Tennessee is located in southeast United States. Tennessee is bordered by Georgia, Alabama, and Mississippi to the south, Kentucky and Virginia to the north, North Carolina to the east, and Arkansas and Missouri to the west.