Best Answer

The stages go from fertilisation (when the egg is fertilised), to an embryo, then the sex of the baby is decided. Occasionally two eggs are fertilised, which creates twins. Rarely, one embryo splits into two and both cells develop separately, as identical twins, similar in appearance. The journey along the Fallopian tube continues slowly for about four days. Growth increases. The uterus is forming a spongy lining within which the embryo will implant. To achieve this the embryo burrows into the wall of the womb and is covered over by the lining of the womb. This begins 6 days after fertilisation and is completed within the next 7 days. This is all in the first month. The baby keeps on developing until conception, which is usually in or after the 9th month. Its hands, eyes and ears start developing properly and it becomes sensitive to sound and responsive to touch. Around 8 weeks, the embryo becomes a foetus and at 9 weeks, it can bend its hand around an object. At 12 weeks he can close his fingers and thumb and he will open his mouth in response to pressure applied at the base of his thumb. The senses continue to develop until the 9th month, when the baby is born.

Hope this is useful!

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
More answers
User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago

The 3 stages of human development are germinal stage, embryonic stage, and fetal stage. The average length of human development is 38 weeks from the date of conception.

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

12y ago

zygote to embryo to foetus and finally baby

This answer is:
User Avatar

User Avatar

Wiki User

9y ago


This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: What are the stages of human development before birth?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What are the Stages of human development after birth?

Before birth the baby starts out as an egg and then once its ovulated. after the first 8 weeks of development it becomes an embryo and then a fetus and once its born it becomes a infant

What is post natal development?

It is the development and growth that happens after the animal/human is born. (prenatal is before birth, postnatal is after birth)

What are the 12 stages of human acts?


How many stages of Human development are there?

There are typically 8 stages of human development according to psychologist Erik Erikson, spanning from infancy to old age.

What are the different stages of human stages?

The different stages of human development are -{1} Infant {2} child hood {3} young {4} old age.

What are aspect of development?

There are several theories of human development. Freud felt that the human went through distinct stages of mental and emotional development. Erik Erikson's human development theory is one of the most popular models.

What are the important of human growth development?

Studying human development can be important for several reasons. You can learn about yourself, find out what is normal, learn about the development stages of your children, and find out how to interact with your kids.

What are the different stages of human development?

The stages of human development are typically categorized as infancy, childhood, adolescence, adulthood, and old age. These stages are characterized by physical, cognitive, emotional, and social changes that occur as individuals grow and mature. Each stage presents unique challenges and milestones that contribute to an individual's overall development.

What is the nine months of human development between fertilization and birth?

The term for the nine months of human development between fertilization and birth is called the gestation period.

What is Sigmund Freuds psychosexual stages of human development?

Sigmund Freud's psychosexual stages of human development refer to five stages of personality development, each centered on a different erogenous zone: oral, anal, phallic, latent, and genital. According to Freud, conflicts at each stage can impact personality development and behavior in later life.

How long would a baby be made?

A healthy infant human can take upto nine months in development before it is ready for birth.

What are the 9 stages of a human's life?

The nine stages of a human's life according to Hindu philosophy are called the Navaratna, and they are: birth, childhood, adolescence, youth, adulthood, middle age, old age, death, and rebirth. These stages represent the different phases of an individual's physical, emotional, and spiritual development throughout their lifetime.