Yes it is, one of the most violation in the united states not only Louisiana
it's for not having a seatbelt on while driving
It depends on what State/Province etc. you are in - in Ontario, Canada you will get 2 demerit points, in Arkansas you get no points, and in Florida you'll get 3 points, for example.
what is the three types of the child restraint systems are:
Open the rear tail gate. Directly under the boot 'lip' there is a preinstalled restraint. It is right under the lip, where the latch is. There are also 2 points, 1 either side of the boot floor, however no restraint has been fitted. You have to remove the black gromet, then install the anchor and bolt.
Indiana Child Restraint Law (Effective July 1, 2005) * Children are required to ride properly restrained in a child restraint, which can include a belt positioning booster seat, until they reach their 8th birthday. (This does not include shoulder belt positioners.) * Children at least 8 years old until their 16th birthday are required to ride properly restrained in a child restraint system or seat belt in all seating positions in all vehicles. * If first time offenders of this violation bring a child safety seat or booster to court, the fine will be waived.* Fees collected from violations will be entered into a fund to purchase child restraints for low income families throughout Indiana.* Exemptions: If all lap/shoulder seat belts are being used by other children, then a child over 40 pounds may ride in a lap only seat belt without a child restraint. (Booster seats cannot be safely used with a lap only seat belt.) Credit: http://www.preventinjury.org/GIRestraintLaws.asp
birth to age 7
Children and infants 3 years of age and under must be properly secured using a crash-tested, federally approved child restraint device. Such restraint devices must be a separate carrier.