Best Answer

The average is about 30 days from a dealer, private sale is immediate, unless you are able to get a temporary registration.

User Avatar

Wiki User

13y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides


17 cards

Im with someone in the army and we want to get married asap but would he get into trouble he is 21 and im 16

What does teachorous mean

What is the difference between an intentional and unintentional injury

Does talking on your cellphone while driving endanger life

See all cards
290 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: How long before you have to register a vehicle you just bought?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

Can you tag a vehicle without a title?

I recently bought a vehicle about 6 months ago and the dealership didn't have the title! So I'm just wondering if I could register and tag it without a title!

How much does it cost to register and transfer a tag on a used truck you just got?

Usually you have to pay sales tax on the vehicle you just bought and then there is a $25 dollar fee to change the tag over.

How long do you have to return a used vehicle that just bought today in south dakota?

If it is a used vehicle and the contract states that you bought it "as is", you can not return the vehicle. Unless you were somehow misled as to the deal, the vehicle, or the contract, and can prove it, you can not return the vehicle.

If I just bought a car but am moving to another state in 2 months can you register it in the other state?


How do you register a right hand drive car in Indiana?

You just go to your local BMV and register it. They are not illegal. Lots of rural mail carriers own them. Register it like any other vehicle.

Can I register a vehicle if I am an adult and do not possess a driver's license?

Yes you can even insure it - you just can't drive.

Can you register a salvaged vehicle?

Yes, it will just be issued a salvage title to make sure is disclosed upon sale.

How do you register a vehicle in pa when title was signed not notarized cant find seller?

just go to the registration office

Your father died and had just bought a new vehicle what happens with this vehicle will the bank take it out of his estate?

The bank can repossess the car if payments are not made.

Can you legally drive a car you just bought from Oregon in California before you register it to your name?

When you drive a car into a state, you are responsible for operating under that state's laws. In this case, you would be subject to both Oregon and California during the trip. You should check each state's laws to determine whether you are able to operate a non-registered vehicle in that state within a few days of purchase. Some states allow time to register a new car, and some require that a used vehicle be registered immediately. If the vehicle is still registered in the prior owner's name, you may be able to operate it with that registration until you return home.

Do you need car insurance to transfer a car into your name. i can not drive it yet so i wuld rather not pay insurance for it to just sit. can i get it into my name without insurance?

Yes. You must have the insurance before you can legally register the vehicle.

Can you register a vehicle in NH with a suspended license?

Simple answer. YES. I have a suspended license & I just registered mine.