Best Answer

Vehicle owners in Michigan must purchase liability insurance in order to be in compliance with state law. Michigan requires drivers to obtain insurance for protection against damages they cause. The law also requires vehicle owners to purchase personal injury protection. Michigan is a no-fault state, meaning that insurance companies must pay for medical costs after a vehicle-related accident. Proof of no-fault insurance and liability coverage must be kept in the vehicle being driven, and must be shown to law enforcement personnel upon request.

Liability Insurance Minimums In Michigan

All liability insurance policies obtained by vehicle owners in Michigan must protect in amounts equal to or greater than:

  • $20,000 for bodily injury sustained by a non-fault individual
  • $40,000 for all bodily injuries per accident
  • $10,000 to cover repairs to vehicles or property belonging to innocent victims

The required PIP and personal property insurance will automatically be added by a licensed agent generating a price quote. Michigan no-fault law requires insurance companies to pay for medical expenses immediately, regardless of who caused the accident. Claims filed by the at-fault and non-fault parties will be processed and settled at a later date. This required PIP insurance is meant to lessen the frequency of fraudulent insurance claims.

Uninsured motorist protection is not required by Michigan law. Insurance agents may offer this protection when a quote is given, and shoppers have the option of waiving this protection entirely.

Driving Without Liability Insurance

Those who operate a motor vehicle in Michigan without proper insurance coverage are breaking the law. A monetary penalty of up to $500 may be handed down by the court. Individuals may also have their driving privileges suspended until they provide proof of coverage. If a driver has multiple traffic violations on record, reinstatement of the license may depend the obtaining of SR-22 insurance from a licensed agent. An SR-22 certificate shows proof of financial responsibility as well as the purchase of Michigan no-fault insurance and liability coverage. Agents are required by law to report any lapse in coverage to the state government.

Driving Under The Influence Of Alcohol

Michigan has very stiff penalties for driving while intoxicated. An individual who refuses to submit to a blood alcohol test will automatically have all driving privileges suspended for one year. The penalty for a first offense of driving under the influence in Michigan is a fine of not less than $100 and a license suspension for three months. Some defendants may be granted a restricted license for the purpose of commuting to and from work. Community service work of up to 360 hours may also be added to the fine and license suspension. Traffic points will be added to the individual's driving record. Michigan has a lookback period of seven years where driving under the influence is concerned.

User Avatar

Wiki User

11y ago
This answer is:
User Avatar

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Obtain Proper No-Fault Auto Insurance In Michigan?
Write your answer...
Still have questions?
magnify glass
Related questions

What if the car dealer give you a car without proper insurance?

I don't really understand your question. The car dealer is not responsible for providing your auto insurance. It is your responsibility to obtain the proper insurance coverage for your vehicle and your situation.

Is a Bugatti legal to drive in Detroit Michigan?

Of course it is, as long as you are observing the posted speed limit and carrying proper insurance and drivers license.

What is the proper adjective for Michigan?


Is Michigan a common noun or proper noun?

The word 'Michigan' is a proper noun, the name of a specific state, the name of a specific place.

How do you spell Michigan?

That is the correct spelling of the proper noun Michigan, a US state.

Is Michigan a noun or a proper noun?

The word 'Michigan' is a proper noun, the name of a specific place.A noun is a word for a person, a place, or a thing.A common noun is a general word for any person, place, or thing.A proper noun is the name of a specific person, place, or thing.Examples of common nouns for the proper noun 'Michigan' are state or place.

Is Michigan a proper noun or a common noun?

Michigan is a proper noun. Proper nouns are the unique names of people, places, or things. Common nouns are the words for general things. If a common noun is part of a name, it becomes a proper noun. Pronouns always replace proper and common nouns.

Which are the main requirements to be cnsiderd to start a house of children?

If you are wanting to start a children's daycare in your home, there are a few requirements to consider. Firstly, you will need to obtain the proper licensing and insurance in order to be granted permission.

Do you have to have liability insurance permit to hire myself out for painters jobs?

I am sure you do because this would make you more valuable as a painter. If I were hiring a painter I would want to make sure that they had proper insurance so that I would not be held responsible for any injury they might obtain on the job.

Where can you buy travel insurance?

All one would need to get travel insurance is to go to their bank, Most banks offer travel insurance to their customers, otherwise, one would need to go to various insurance brokers near their location to get quotes. Due to the infinitesimal amount of insurance dealers, one would need to look through local classifieds and go to their local bank to obtain proper, reliable travel insurance.

Where do you get an enhanced drivers license?

An American Citizen with proper identification and the appropriate fee can obtain an enhanced driver's license ("EDL") at the state agency which issues drivers' licenses in the states of Washington, Vermont, Michigan, New York, and California.

WHAT IS A 16028 A?

It is when you dont show that you have proper insurance