What is the legal age a child can be left home alone in Wisconsin?

already exists.

Would you like to merge this question into it?

already exists as an alternate of this question.

Would you like to make it the primary and merge this question into it?

exists and is an alternate of .

There is no law in Wisconsin. The age at which a child can be left at home alone is only legislated in two states and Wisconsin is not one of them. The legal check is whether or not the child is safe and has the ability to take care of themselves. Most authorities agree that leaving a 12 year old alone at home for an hour or two is acceptable, but they should not be responsible for other children. Legal Age "First of all, there is no Wisconsin state law that dictates the minimum age at which a child can be left alone, but the age of 12 is often mentioned." - Prevent Child Abuse Wisconsin There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages for children home alone, but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia, Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states with specific ages mentioned in their laws.

12 years of age appears to be the most common recommendation. Below in Related Links is an article entitled Home Alone Children Legal Age Limits which provides a state by state comparison with references.

One guideline from a California child welfare representative suggests that 8 year olds and over can be left at home for a brief period of time (usually just after school).
29 people found this useful

What is the legal age a child can be left home alone in Michigan?

It actually depends on the situation. If the parent sees it fit and the child can handle it there is no magical age. It is technically "At the parents discretion". The age

What is the legal age a child can be left home alone in Kentucky?

Answer . Kentucky, like the vast majority of states, has not legislated this topic. There is no legal age prescribed for allowing a child to be home alone.. There are very

What is the legal age a child can be left home alone in Birmingham?

Answer . According to the Department of Children and Families, Abuse Hotline, there is no specific age defined in Florida law regarding when a child can be left

What is the legal age a child can be left home alone in Nebraska?

Answer . The age is not legislated. The safety and welfare of the child are important. . Legal Age . The age at which a child can be left at home alone is only legisl

What is the legal age a child can be left home alone in Pennsylvania?

The legal age age at which a child can be left at home alone isonly legislated in five states. The legal check is whether or notthe child is safe and has the ability to take c

What is the legal age a child can be left home alone in California?

\n. \n Answer \n. \n. \nThere is not a California law pertaining to the legal age when a minor child can be left home alone. The common law that is applied is a child u

At what age can a child legally be home alone in Wisconsin?

Probably at 13, but is there really an age limit to be home alone in Wisconsin?. Only two states have legislated a specific age to leave a child home alone, Illinois and Mary

Is there a legal age a child can be left at home alone in the UK?

The law does not set a minimum age at which children can be left alone. However, it is an offence to leave a child alone when doing so puts him or her at risk.. Consider the

What is the legal age a child can be left home alone in Maryland?

Answer . Q: "At what age can a child be left home alone in Maryland?" A: Family Law Article, § 5-801, provides:. (a) A person who is charged with the care of a child

What is the legal age a child can be left home alone in Louisiana?

There are very few states in the U.S. with legal minimum ages,but many state agencies have published guidelines. Georgia,Illiniois, Maryland and Oregon are a few of the states

What is the legal age a child must be to be left home alone?

Legal Age . The age at which a child can be left at home alone is only legislated in two states Maryland and Illinois. The legal check is whether or not the child is safe a