What happens if the tennis ball hits a player outside the court without a bounce?
Here is the link to the official USTA tennis rules: http://www.usta.com/AboutUs/~/media/USTA/Document%20Assets/2007/02/09/doc_13_16051.ashx Under Section 24. Player Loses Point (page 19), The point is lost if: The ball in play touches the player or anything that the player is wearing or carrying, except the racket; This rule does not specify whether the player is inside or outside of the court. This means that it doesn't matter if the player is inside or outside of the court. As long as the player touches the ball with his body or clothing, s/he loses the point. This interpretation can be verified at the following site: http://www.collinscompany.com/Tennis_Court_Equipment_And_Supplies/Tennis_Rule_20.asp Under section g., there is a comment on this rule, which states: USTA Comment: This loss of point occurs regardless of whether the tennis player is inside or outside the bounds of his tennis court when the tennis ball touches him. Writer's comment: Even though the ball is clearly out if the player was hit by the ball when s/he was standing outside of the court, the player whom was hit by the ball still loses the point because s/he touches the ball with his body or clothing, which ends the point.
5 people found this useful
No, If someone isn't paying attention or what not, and it hits them, the ball is then not in play and the point is awarded to the other player
Answer . No you can not. The ball must hit each side of the table when playing. Otherwise, the point will go to the opponent.
In Tennis do you still gain a point if you return a ball after the opposing player hits it out of bounds and it has already bounced?
yes u still get the point b/c the ball was out causeing the ball to be dead and u get the point if the oppising player hit the ball out of bounds on a RETURN if the opposing p…layer served it and it was out they get 1 more do over and if it is out again u get the point whether u hit it back or not b/c once its out its dead
Yes , it does You could even try it yourself for proof. Bounce something on grass then on pavement, you will see a difference in how the softer the lower.
its their point because you failed to hit the ball with the racket, however if u hit the ball and it bounces off one of the posts keeping the net up and it goes in its your po…int since you hit the ball with your racket and it went basically over the net
It squashes somewhat against the strings of the racquet. As energy is also instilled and released, it also warms up a little.
it would be classed as out
because the wet pitch makes the ball slow and wet by:ali
What happens in tennis if the ball hits a structure outside the court then bounces in the opponents court?
If the ball hits anything except the net and goes in, it is considered out. If the ball hhits the top of the net and drops in, it is considered good.
Arm straight and close to body and smack it really really hard and hit it flat and upwards, but don't angle it straight up otherwise it's going to come right down on you or it…'ll land not far off inside the court. .
Chair empire says "Touch" and returner losts the point
Artificial court I think .
The opponent will hit it.
In Table Tennis
If the ball has already passed over the playing surface and it'sobviously not going to hit the table, it doesn't matter. The playerwho is hit still wins the point. But if a pl…ayer hits/volleys/touches the ball whilst it's stilltravelling over or towards the playing surface he would lose thepoint.
Yes, as long as you don't touch the net or the other side. Youcan't touch the ball until it crosses the net to your side, butonce it crosses over, if it has spin and goes back… to theopponent's side, you can and must reach over the net to touch theball before it's second bounce because you will lose the point ifit bounces back on the opponent's side without you touching it.