What would you like to do?
Do disabled veterans pay auto sales taxes?
4 people found this useful
Was this answer useful?
Thanks for the feedback!
Answer Presuming you mean your buying the car by assuming the loan of another: The purchase is taxable. It doesn't matter if you pay cash or finance it by get…ting a new loan, or assuming an existing one. It should be based on the current payoff amount of the loan, which is really what you are paying. If it is within a family, there may be an exemption.
It is 3%.
Effective March 1, 2013, Georgia Sales Tax will no longer be charged on vehicle purchases. It has been replaced by the Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT) which is 6.5% for 2013, 6.7…5% for 2014 and 7.0% for 2015. The law allows the TAVT to be increased up to 9.0% in 2016 and subsequent years, but only if required to make budget. The TAVT will apply to all vehicle transactions, including private or person-to-person sales. New residents moving into Georgia will also be required to pay the TAVT when they apply for their Georgia tag and title. At the current rate of 6.5%, car buyers will be paying about the same amount as Sales Tax at the time of purchase. But the awesome thing is that you will no long pay Ad Valorem Tax based on your vehicle's value each year when you buy your tag! Ad Valorem on a $25k vehicle could easily cost $400+ for the first few years and, adding insult to injury, it was due on your birthday when you bought your new tag! After the TAVT has been paid on the vehicle once, your tag will only cost $20 per year to renew! The Georgia Department of Revenue has an online calculator that illustrates how much you will save depending on how long you plan to keep the vehicle. For example, if I bought a $30k car today, I would pay 6.5% TAVT at the dealer. If I expect to keep it for 7 years, I will save more than $2400 because I won't pay Ad Valorem tax at each tag renewal!!! I doubt that private sellers/buyers or folks moving into the state will be happy with the new law. But for everyone else who buys a new or used car, it will save a LOT of money in the long run!
Normally, you only pay sales tax on the retail price of an item as calculated after most discounts (but not all) have been applied. In many states, this is calculated before s…hipping and sometimes labor charges are added to the invoice. There are a few rare cases where sales tax could be applied on top of another tax similar to a sales tax, such as with the excise tax in Hawaii or the GST tax in VAT tax being applied after the GST tax in Quebec and Prince Edward Island, Canada. I suppose other instances of sales tax on top of sales tax could happen if you, for instance, purchased a car stereo, paid sales tax on it, and then paid a taxable labor charge that was based on the price of the stereo to have it installed. This scenario is not common however.
You can get an apportionment form and I would suggest doing so until you go to court. However, US Supreme Court Law has ruled that the disability benefits received by a ve…teran are to support the disabled veteran and his/her dependents. This would include child support. Please visit the Related Link for more information.
Yes everybody must pay taxes.
No Veterans service connected disability pay is not reported on your income tax return. You do receive a 1099 information form from the VA for the amount of your disability pa…y that youu receive during the year.
Several states have no sales tax. Among them are Oregon and New Hampshire.
Yes if you are registering the car in TN
The auto insurance settlement wouldn't be taxable unless you realize a gain from it. Being on Social Security Disability doesn't exempt you from paying any taxes that may be d…ue as a result.
You don't have to pay the sales tax to her say if she sells it to you for a flat rate of $700. However when you go to switch the title over at the DMV, they will ask you for h…ow much you bought it for and you have to pay sales tax on that amount to the DMV themselves. Hope that helped!
Whatever percent of a dollar the sales tax for your state is, multiply that by the sale price for the amount of sales tax owed. example: sales tax = 5 cents on the dollar or… .05 the sale price is $10,000.00 .05x10,000=$500.00
It varies per state. In most states, yes.
If your disability payments are through the VA then they are tax free and are not considered taxable income.
Yes, in many states, such as Minnesota, you have to pay sales tax on the delivery if you're paying sales tax on the item.
In most states in the United States veterans are required to pay property taxes, unless they qualify as a permanently disabled veteran. Some stated allow for the late payment …of real estate taxes for active service in the armed forces (for example in Iraq) or returning troops. Ask your local assessor or tax collector for your state about how veterans can qualify.